Hall North – “Somnium” (LUCID PODCAST)

Intro: Hall North: “Somnium” (vox) – CDR
1) Nash Donson: “Out of Here” – FURTHER
2) Terje Saether: “Breed” (Klartraum Remix) – LUCIDFLOW
3) Lee Pennington: “Green Hornet” – FADE
4) Quantec: “Intergranular” – TOFFLER
5) Chloe Harris: “Wah” – TULIPA
6) John Ryan & Foreman: “Runch” (3 Deep Remix) –
7) Silicone Soul: “Call of The Dub” (Paul Loraine Remix) – SOMA
8) Summer (Brendon Collins): “Love Affair At Sea” (Jussi Pekka Remix) – TULIPA
9) Jeff Bennett: “I Discovered” (Hall North Remix) – TULIPA
10) Paul Loraine: “Move Closer” (Hall North Remix) – CDR
11) La Torre: “Power” (Hall North Remix) – STRIPPED
12) M Weber: “Hannewaggel” (Lazy M Remix) – DUBMETRICAL
13) Hall North: “Levinas” – TULIPA
Outro: Hall North: “Somnium” (vox) – CDR

Biography of Hall North

Hailing from the industrial landscape of Teesside in North East England, Hall North (real name, Stephen Thompson) has risen to notoriety recently due to his remix of Harvey Mckay’s ’69’ on Soma.

A classically trained pianist with huge enthusiasm for all things electronic and a life-long fan of bands like Depeche Mode and New Order, Hall North draws inspiration from a diverse pallette of influences, from Brian Eno to Frankie Knuckles, Ennio Morricone to Buriel and everything inbetween.

Although house music was always his first love, he has dabbled in the indie electro scene, playing synths in electro group Coldseat and promoting and spinning at many a crossover indie-electro clubnight in his native Teesside.

Then, in 2009, he returned to his rightful place, in the warm and loving embrace of house. Since then, he’s released a string of tracks on various labels, including Soma and Fade and been commissioned for several remixes. His tracks have found there way into the boxes of a diverse array of DJs such as Timo Maas, Stacey Pullen, Roger Sanchez, Sander Kleinenberg and picked up plays played on Ministry of Sound and Ibiza Sonica Radio.

Much like the landscape surrounding his home town, Hall North’s tracks and sets encompass all that is deep/ethereal and dark/beautiful about house and techno music and emphasise the pure bitter sweet emotion that makes dancefloor experiences so memorable.

For DJ/Live bookings and remix/collab requests; e-mail hallnorthhouse@gmail.com

Selected discography of Hall North

Harvey McKay: ’69’ (Hall North Remix) – Soma
Hall North: ‘Paley’s Watch’ – We Continue Digital
Elliot Wright: ‘Flashforward’ (Hall North Remix) – We Continue Digital
Hall North: ‘Dante’ – Strange Town
Hall North: ‘Green Tea’ – Celestial
Chris Fortier: “Despegue” (Hall North’s Deep’N’Dark Dub) – Fade